You should not drive a motorcycle on public roads in Texas without a license. It’s pretty easy to get the license. Interested to know how to get a motorcycle license in Texas?
The applicant should first complete the classroom phase to understand the basic motorcycle fundamentals and traffic laws. The next step is to sit for the written test and driving test. If qualified, just pay the fees to get the license.
It takes just 2 days to complete the written and driving test. The application fee is also very affordable. There will be no difficulties to get a motorcycle license if you can drive a motorcycle and meet the age limit.
4 Easy Steps To Get A Motorcycle Driving License In Texas: Check Now
Whether you have a regular driver’s license or not, you must get a Class M driving license to drive a motorcycle in Texas. There are different application procedures for minors, 15 years old and also for 18 years or older. Here is the overall procedure to get the license.
Step 1: Complete The Pre-Requirements
Before applying for the motorcycle license, you are required to have a Class C learner license and complete the 32-hour classroom phase of a driver education course. You are required to present the completion certificate while submitting the application for a motorcycle license.
Step 2: Submit The Application
Once you completed the classroom phase, you can now submit your application to the Texas Department of Public Safety(DPS). Make sure you have all the required documents asked while submitting the license form.
Step 3: Sit For The License Test
It’s time to sit for the written test that will be held at the DPS office. There will be questions about basic motorcycle control and traffic laws. If you pass the written test, there will be a practical driving test then. This will check your ability to drive a motorcycle.
Step 4: Get The License
The basic steps to apply for a motorcycle license are completed. Now you need to pay the application fee and mention the Class you are applying for. If you need the license immediately, the state office issues a temporary license.
Motorcycle License Requirements In Texas – Check Now
Before applying for a motorcycle driving license, you should know about the common requirements to get the license. Here are the requirements.
There are specific age limits for a motorcycle driving license application in Texas. For example, the applicants must be at least 15 years or older to get a driving license.
The applicants must complete a motorcycle driving course before applying for the license. Before choosing a course, make sure it’s approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Tests & Fees
You should qualify for the written and practical tests under DPS – Texas. There is also an application fee that should be paid to get the driving license in hand.
These are the common requirements that you should be aware of before applying for a motorcycle driving license in Texas.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Texas?
Most states in the USA issue motorcycle licenses in a very short time. In Texas, you can get a motorcycle license within 2 days. You need to attend the discussion and writing test about driving skills on the first day.
If you qualify, the next day you are required to pass a practical ride test by getting the minimum marks. They will issue you a temporary driving license on that day.
How Much Does It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Texas?
There are different classes and types of driving licenses available in Texas. Thus, the driving license fees also vary. However, the average cost for a regular driving license is $33 in Texas. The renewal will also cost you $33.
The fee is different for those under 18 and above 85. For those under 18, it will cost you $16 for a new driving license. On the other hand, the driving license free for applicants 85 or older is $9.
How Long Is Motorcycle Course In Texas?
The duration of the motorcycle course actually depends on the organization. There are so many schools that provide motorcycle driving courses. If you are under 18, you must complete a motorcycle course in Texas.
For example, the Basic Rider Course of Northeast Texas Community College is a sixteen-hour course that will be completed within 2 days. The courses cover motorcycle fundamentals and don’t require any previous experience.
Can You Ride A Motorcycle In Texas Without A Motorcycle License?
Unfortunately, you can’t ride a motorcycle without a license or motorcycle endorsement in Texas. It’s illegal to drive on public roads without a motorcycle license in Texas. Riders should get a class M or any other motorcycle license to drive on public roads.
If you try to drive in Texas without a motorcycle license, this may result in fines and can even result in arrest in some cases.
Is It Allowed To Drive A Motorcycle With A Car License In Texas?
You will be allowed to drive a motorcycle with a car license only if your car license has a motorcycle endorsement. The Texas Department of Public Safety won’t allow you to drive without a motorcycle license.
The driving licenses for motorcycles are categorized into different classes. You can drive a motorcycle with a Learner license for a motorcycle that is known as a Class M license.
Can You Buy A Motorcycle Without A License In Texas?
You may purchase a motorcycle without a license in Texas but you won’t be able to drive it without a motorcycle license. In Texas or most other states, you must have a motorcycle driving license to drive on public roads.
Once you purchase a motorcycle, get the required license and documents before driving it on public roads to avoid any fines or penalties.
There should not be any more doubt about how to get a motorcycle license in Texas. Make sure you complete the classroom courses. Go to the DPS office and submit an application. If you qualify for the written test and the driving test, you will get the motorcycle license without any hassle.
Driver License Fees | Department of Public Safety. (2020, September 29). the Texas Department of Public Safety. Retrieved April 12, 2023, from https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/driver-license-fees
Motorcycle License | Department of Public Safety. (2020, September 24). the Texas Department of Public Safety. Retrieved April 12, 2023, from https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/motorcycle-license